The Department Of Community Medicine of the Delta State University Teaching Hospital Oghara renders Public Health Services, provides postgraduate residency training and conducts research.

Service Delivery.

The department currently Offers services in three (3) primary healthcare linkage sites namely: Ovu Primary Health Centre located in Ethiope-East Local Government Area, Ogharefe Primary Health Centre and Jesse Primary Health Centre located in Ethiope-West local Government Area respectively.

In addition the department runs Infant Welfare/immunization clinic; co-provides services, along with the department Of Family Medicine, in the DEL-SUTH Staff Clinic; operates DOTS clinic for TB patients; carries out disease surveillance and notification activities in DELSUTH and, by extension, to the State via monthly reports; and operates the Well Persons’ Clinic.


The department was first granted a temporal accreditation Of two (2) years duration in 2012.

There was a re-accreditation visit On 29th January 2015 that culminated in the award of full accreditation to train both junior and senior registrars. This current accreditation will expire on the 28th of January 2020.


The department has successfully trained seven (7) fellows and ten (10) senior registrars. There are currently four fellows and five senior registrars still undergoing training in the department.